Domestic Violence is treated extremely seriously in Oklahoma. A conviction, or plea of guilty in some circumstances, can affect your job prospects, ability to receive financial aid, or your ability to legally own a firearm under Federal law. A first-time conviction, even for a misdemeanor, carries up to year in the county jail in addition to a fine of up to $5,000.
Felony domestic violence charges are even more serious. A conviction for felony domestic violence can carry up to four years in the penitentiary and a fine of up to $5,000. Domestic Abuse by Strangulation carries a minimum of one year in prison with a maximum of three years. Even a probationary sentence for almost any type of domestic violence carries with it a mandatory 52-week counseling course.
Before I became a Oklahoma Defense Attorney, I prosecuted hundreds and hundreds of domestic violence crimes. I have the experience to help you or a loved one facing this very serious accusation. If you find yourself charged with such a crime, my Oklahoma City Law Firm would be happy to be of assistance.